Intel-PES Student Contest 2019

Student Contest sponsored by Intel Corporation
at PES University (Center for Innovation & Entrepreneurship)

Jan to May 2019
2   Areas: Speech & Image processing (6 problem statements from Intel)
20    PES Faculty involved
02    Dedicated PES Faculty Coordinators
02    F2F Mtgs by Intel (~8 telecon)
01     F2F review of student projects
01     Training (OpenVINO) conducted
02    Dedicated Intel Contest Coordinators

Student Contest sponsored by Intel Corporation at PES University
Speech Recognition & Image Processing using AI/ML

The contest is the first activity under the research and innovation memorandum of understanding (MoU) between Intel Corporation (Ideas-2-Reality/I2R) and PES University (Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship/CIE) and was held by Intel Corporation for PES University students.

The theme of the contest was Speech Recognition and Image Processing using artificial intelligence (AI) / Machine Learning (ML). The contest began in Jan 2019 and ran through the semester till May 2019 with 3 teams of PES students (from CS and ECE departments) coming out as winners.

Intel Corporation provided the problem statements and mentoring in addition to the guidance from respective Faculty members associated with each team. Intel Corporation team also provided feedback at key milestones and arranged for training on special/advanced topics so that the students could leverage the latest AI/ML tools like OpenVINO.

The response to the contest has been overwhelming: 70 teams (55 teams from CS and 15 from ECE) with a total of 207 students registered for the contest. The Finale was held on 18th May 2019 where 12 teams shortlisted by Intel made a Final Presentation and top 3 teams chosen for awards.

The Top Prize carrying a prize amount of Rs.90,000 in vouchers was awarded to Anush V Kini, Rajath S and Sumukh Aithal K. The Runners-up Prize of Rs.45,000 was awarded to Anuj S Tambwekar, Madhav M Kashyap and Rohit Menon C. There was a Special category – Most Innovative Award of Rs.90,000 which was awarded to Nandagopal N V, Maanvi Nunna and Malaika Vijay.

The contest was judged by a panel of senior Intel Corporation technologists and managers and the awards were given away by Kishore Ramisetty, Senior Director, Intel Corporation. Dr. KNB Murthy (Vice-Chancellor), Prof. Sathya Prasad (Director of CIE), the Chairpersons of CS and ECE Departments and other key Faculty were present at the award ceremony.